A Walk in the Woods

“Hiking is a bit like life: the journey only requires you to put one foot in front of the othere… again and again and again. And if you allow yourself opportunity to be present throughout the entirety of the trek, you will witness beauty every step of the way, not just at the summit.” – Unknown

Hiking is one of my favorite things in the world and its something that I don’t do enough. The feelinf of packed dirt under a booted foot, puffing up little dust clouds if it hasn’t rained recently. The smell of the woods, crisp and fresh tinged with the decomposing leaves. Eyes taking in the scenic views of trees, possibly water and wildlife.Backpack resting gently but noticably on my back (depending on how you’re carrying your water) the  feel it sloshing around in its confining bottle or water bladder. My feet are carrying me in the direction of new sights, sounds and smells.

IMG_3080.JPG

Not only is it a good way to spend the day outside and experience new things. Its a good way to build relationships with friends and family. Usually, when I go hiking (if its not by myself) its  with somone who I know apprecaiates the outdoors in similar ways that I do or someone who I know would benefit and enjoy the overall experience.

img_3280

Hiking to me is a good way to get out of the house, spend time with cherished one and form new relationships, its also a very good way for me to find my center. I don’t hike just to see the sights or to accomplish another trail. I hike because of the way it makes me feel WHILE I am on the trail. I reach this feeling of contentment and peace, happiness and belonging. I know I’m not the only person who feels this way while doing something that they love, right? Hiking is a great de-stresser for me, to just focus on the here and now admist the choas of real life. Hiking is where I find myself.

 

Photo Credit: All photos were taken by me.

Leave a Reply

