What is the Adventure Box?

“Because in the end, you won’t remember the time you spent working in the office or mowing your lawn. Climb that goddamn mountain.”― Jack Kerouac

I love seeing and experiencing new things. With that being said, I’m always up for excursions; hiking trips, camping, road trips, snowshoeing,  you name it. However, sometimes, the idea for it is such a spontaneous one, that there is a lack of preparation can cause you to be unprepared.

For a third of 2016, I have ventured around Montana and Wyoming a little. One thing that I noticed is that there were numerous roadside campgrounds in National Forests, like the Gallatin National Forest and Shoshone National Forest. I always wanted to stop in one of them and see about camping for a night or two but was never prepared for it. There were also a decent amount of trail heads just off in roadside pulls outs or in these campgrounds.

fullsizeoutput_1bd1
Photo Credit: My adventure buddy and mom.

So, my adventure box is nothing more then a plastic bin from any store like Walmart or Target. I’m covering it in stickers to give it a little more personality then just a clear plastic binand the things in it you can easily get on Amazon. This bin will be in my car at all times, unless I’m updating it or changing it for which ever seaon it is and what adventures might be possible during that season.

img_4138
The Adventure Box

Right now, in the Adventure Box is a few basic things that I thought would be nice to have in there and what I might need at some point and time. There’s a 2017 Road Atlas ( I’m very fond of road trips!), a roll of toilet paper (you never know when you might need some TP), a deck of cards, a reuseable bag, some para cord, a selfie stick (I hate that I have one but I have gotten some pretty neat shots with it and I’ll probably add a tripod for my camera), a flashlight (it doubles as a small lantern), a GSI nesting mug and cup, a Snow peak spork, a sweatshirt, a hat, a pair of gloves, a Mountain House backpacking meal, and an old school can opener.I also have a package of glowsticks, zip ties, white garbage bags, black garbage bags, a tupperware container with a pen, pocket notebook, a lighter, and knife.

What I don’t have in the box is a first aid kit, jumper cables, a blanket, ice scraper (You just never know with Northern Michigan), and a small shovel. They might not be in the Adventure Box, but they are staples I keep in my car.

What would you put in your adventure box? What would you leave out?

Let the adventures commence!

All Photos were taken by Sarah’s Adventure Box; Photo of me by the Welcome to Montana sign taken by my mom.

Leave a Reply

