Looking Back on the Year…

“Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure, than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat.” –Theodore Roosevelt

Lately, I’ve been reflecting on 2016 and it has been quite the year for me. I completed one of the best experience of my life with my internship at the Yellowstone Heritage and Research Center. I graduated college. I lived and worked in Yellowstone National Park for a a third of the year. I met some amazing people who have positively impacted my life and helped structured it into the amazing year it has been. My love for seeing new things and having new expiences exploded into a monster.

In 2017, I want to get out hiking more, take more pictures, and go on more adventures. I want to experience the world around me. So to help me achieve my desires, I’m compiling a list of posibilities.   It is starting to take shape with a lot of room for expanding.

img_4602
The list so far.

 

To help keep me motivated at trying new things and getting outside, I’ve also joined a challenge called  “365 Mile Challenge” ( more information can be found here). This challenge is to achieve 365 miles over the year by doing any self propeled activity such as hiking, biking, running, kayaking, you get the picture. It’s a $15.00 fee to join and the money goes toward the challenge itself, for more information check out the webite. I’m doing this challenge with my mom, Jami. She’s one of my favorite people to go on adventures with. We’re are planning to start with a couple of trails around our home and then expanding out.  Dad will be joining us too.

My mom and I are good at keeping each other motivated and we make a wonderful team. In my opion, together we can accomplish anything. I love that she is one of my adventuring partners in crime because sharing experiences with her makes them all the more special. She’s gone to Yellowstone National Park with me, climb mountains with me, and gone on road trips with me. All I can say is if I ever have kids, I aspire to have a relationship with them to mirror the one we share.

img_1434

Here’s to a new year with filled with new adventures, spectacular things to see, and amazing new memories!

All Photographs were taken by Sarah’s Adventure Box; the 365 Mile Challenge logo came from their website.

Leave a Reply

